Poster

• Members
  • 16 posts
  • Local time: 06:38 PM
  • State/Province or Region:BC
  • Camper Brand:NL 9.6 QC SE
  • Truck Make & Model:2006 Dodge Ram 3500 CTD QC 4X4 SRW

Posted 08 May 2006 - 11:49 AM

I'm new to TCs, and am planning to purchase my first one in a few weeks. I've settled on the make and model, but am unsure of the usual RV negotiation strategy.

Is it similar to buying a truck or car? In other words, they quote MSRP as the price, but is the real bottom line about 10 to 12% less (similar to negotiating around the invoice price of a vehicle)? Or are you expected to pay the quoted MSRP?

I know the price structure and buying process with trucks and am comfortable negotiating with auto dealers, but RV dealers are new territory for me, so I'm not sure what the standard negotiating protocol is there.

Oh yeah, this is for a new unit, not used.

Thanks for any advice.

Tom

#2 OFFLINE   joemcg

joemcg

Grand Potentate

• Members
  • 376 posts
  • Interests:camping & astronomy & not working!!

Posted 08 May 2006 - 12:43 PM

IMHO everything's negotiable! I think with a TC part of the issue is geographical area. Your post doesn't list your part of the country, but in some there are a heck of a lot more TCs and dealers than in others. I think this makes a difference - the more competition for your business, the better the price you will probably receive. Here in the San Diego area TC dealers are practically non-existant. With over 2 million people in the county there are only 2 that I know of. That's one reason we have a Lance. The other dealer that sells a competing brand we wouldn't go near because of previous experience with them. That kind of narrowed it down for us, if we wanted to shop price at another Lance dealership it would have been a 90 mile ride instead of about 6 miles.