DA TOAD

Grand Potentate

• Members
  • 50 posts
  • Local time: 09:33 PM
  • State/Province or Region:MA
  • Interests:Fishing and stained glass.
  • Camper Brand:2016 ARCTIC FOX 1140.
  • Truck Make & Model:2016 CHEVY SILVERADO 3500 HD, CREW CAB, 4WD, DUALLY DURAMAX

Posted 09 September 2016 - 11:03 AM

So this is my first year with a TC.....2016 Arctice Fox 1140.  Although I have not even used it yet this year and probably won't get to use it it doesn't look like I am going to be able to sell it either.  :sad0049:

I had a Real Lite TC back in the very early 80's.  It didn't even have a battery of it's own.  It ran off the truck batteries.  We basically just dropped it on my Dad's back lot at a lake.  Never really even used the water or 12V power systems as showers, toilet, and the like we taken care of in my Dad's house and we pulled shore power from his house also.

Anyway I am working up a check list for winterizing and I would like any input I can get from the expertise I see on this forum.

Of course is drain all the water systems and install anti-freeze.

Take anything out that might be damaged by freezing or cause damage by freezing.

Cover the top with a tarp insuring that there is sufficient air flow.

Batteries are a question.  The TC will sit on the side of my garage plugged into power from the garage.  Should I remove the batteries from the camper and bring inside to the warm.  Should I just leave the batteries in the camper with the isolation switch turned to on and turn it on occasionally to charge the batteries?  Maybe  I should just leave the batteries in the camper with the isolation switch turned to off, plugged in all the time with the batteries getting an automatic charge when needed? 

Inquiring Toad's would like advice.

Anything else I should do or worry about.  I never covered or did much of anything with the old camper. 

2016 Chevy Silverado 3500 HD 4WD Duramax Dually with 2017 Arctic Fox 1140.

#2 OFFLINE   Oliver

Oliver