• 146 posts
  • Local time: 08:30 PM
  • State/Province or Region:UT
  • Interests:Hunting, Fishing, Skeet shooting
  • Camper Brand:2011 Lance 992
  • Truck Make & Model:2010 Chevy 2500HD Silverado, 6.0L gas
  • Name (Public):Bob

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:06 AM

Now before you get your knickers all in a knot; I AM NOT casting stones at anybody for their beliefs. I respect your right to have any beliefs with which you are comfortable and happy. Please don’t take offense because I might disagree with your beliefs.  I'm always willing to participate in rational discussions and sincerely hope this is one of those.

I know I’m just a newbie on this site, but I’ve been an RV’er for a good portion of my adult life (70 years young and counting) and have owned everything except a Class B motorhome. I’m always glad to learn new stuff from others as well as share my knowledge when appropriate. I’ve been a Trailer Life/Motorhome Life Magazine subscriber for a long time. I’ve talked with truck dealers and truck owners all over the USA about GVWR limitations and have come to the conclusion that very few people REALLY have a handle on GVWR and what is really involved in calculating this figure by the manufacturer of the truck.

What I’ve learned over the years is this; the GVWR takes a lot of components into consideration that include but are not limited to the entire drive train (engine, transmission, drive shaft, axles, suspension system, frame, wheels, tires, etc). Each manufacturer has a different methodology for computing the GVWR and it is highly unlikely that any two will be the same. And because there isn’t one standard used by all manufacturers, it is very difficult to intelligently determine which truck actually has the highest GVWR.