20 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Tillerman

Tillerman

Grand Potentate

• NATCOA Members
  • 425 posts
  • Local time: 07:50 PM
  • State/Province or Region:B.C.
  • Interests:Kayaking, Dragonboating, Fishing, Camping, Gardening and of course, wine making too!
  • Camper Brand:2007 Snowbird 9'6 Superslide
  • Truck Make & Model:Ford F350 7.3 SC 4X4
  • Name (Public):Tillerman

Posted 13 September 2010 - 08:47 AM

Hi everyone,

Some may remember me as Artum Snowbird, but now I till (steer) a dragonboat for serious fun, so I will become Tillerman. Seems we are about a week away from owning a new to us camper, and I think I will be needing some Vision 81 wheels and tires. We tried our hand at owning a Class C, but miss the back roads and the manuverability of the truck.

I have been considering Michelins, and Toyos as possibilities for my 2000 F350 7.3 SRW SC 4 by 4.

Putting 245 tires onto the truck will decrease the RPM by about 7% according to the revolutions per mile charts compared to the 265 16's on there now. Will that cause any problems?

Some have posted about the smell from Toyos. Not sure whether that is present in the 19.5 tires or not... any comments? Michelins are supposed to be a little harder, but will go a lot further than others... if I actually put the miles on to wear them out. Are they worth the extra $$$.

I'll be buying tires locally here on Vancouver Island because of the warranty and free rotations offered, so getting wheels, caps, and nuts from the US seems to be the only option.

Also, I have read a post about needing more braking because the tires and wheels are heavier than the 16's. Not sure whether I believe that or not... does the rotating weight have any bearing on the braking, or is it just the overall mass of the vehicle and camper attempting to stop?

Looking forward to old friends and being a part of NATCOA again.

Mike

#2 OFFLINE   Budster

Budster

Founding Member - Former Director

• Founder
  • 1697 posts